Elections Information

Important Contacts

Paula McKinnon,
Chief Election Officer


Nate Moyer,
Deputy Chief Election Officer


Lillooet City Hall
615 Main Street
P.O. Box 610
Lillooet, BC V0K 1V0
Phone: 250-256-4289
Fax: 250-256-4288

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Friday
8:30 am to 12:00 noon; and
1:00 pm to 4:30 pm
Closed Statutory Holidays






The District of Lillooet municipal council is comprised of a mayor and four councillors each elected for a four-year term. The next general local election will be held on Saturday, October 20, 2018.

In British Columbia, municipal elections are now held every four years and are conducted according to the regulations set out in the Local Government Act.

Candidate guides, campaign financing guides, voter's guides, and more information on local government elections may be found on the Ministry of Community, Sport and Cultural Development website and in Part 3 of the Local Government Act.

Thinking of running for Council?

The Province of BC has prepared some informative videos for individuals considering running for Council.  

People considering running in local elections now have access to resources that provide information about the roles and responsibilities of elected local officials.

Educational videos and a brochure are available online, at local government candidate information sessions and at orientations for newly elected officials. These new resources will help people to make informed decisions about running for local government offices.

General information about expectations of locally elected officials, their roles and responsibilities and about how local governments make decisions is available through these new resources.

The informative videos feature current local government officials and staff from throughout the province providing their perspectives in five areas:

  • What is local government?
  • Characteristics of an effective local official
  • Roles and responsibilities of staff and elected officials
  • Testing readiness to be an elected official
  • What contributes to effective decision making?

In an effort to create awareness, the Local Government Management Association, Local Government Leadership Academy, Union of B.C. Municipalities and the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing worked to develop the materials for a diverse audience of prospective candidates.

Learn More:

Thinking of running for local office? Visit: www.gov.bc.ca/localgov-thinking-running-local-office


Nomination packages will be available for pick-up beginning Friday, July 27, 2018, at the District of Lillooet Office during regular business hours (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday, except Statutory Holidays).

The Nomination Period takes place between Tuesday, September 4 at 9 a.m. and Friday, September 14 at 4 p.m. During this period nomination documents will be received by the Chief Election Officer or Deputy Election Officer.



Who May be Nominated?
A person is qualified to be nominated, elected, and to hold office as a member of local government if they meet the following criteria:

  • Be a Canadian citizen
  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Be a resident of British Columbia for at least 6 months immediately before nomination papers are filed
  • Not be disqualified by the Local Government Act or any other enactment from voting in an election in British Columbia or from being nominated for, being elected to, or holding office or be otherwise disqualified by law


Election Period: (ends on the 29th day before General Voting Day)
Monday, January 1, 2018 - Friday, September 21, 2018

Nomination Packages Available:
Friday, July 27, 2018

Nomination Period:
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 (9:00 a.m.) - Friday, September 14, 2018 (4:00 p.m.)

Last Day to Withdraw from being a candidate:
Friday September 21, 2018

Campaign Period (begins on the 28th day before GVD):
Saturday September 22, 2018 - Saturday, October 20, 2018

Advanced Voting Day (Required):
Wednesday October 10, 2018

General Voting Day:
Saturday, October 20, 2018

Declaration of Official Results:
Wednesday October 24, 2018

Campaign Financing Disclosure Statement Filing Deadline:
Friday, January 18, 2019

Campaign Financing Disclosure Statement Filing Deadline with $500 Late Filing Fee:
Monday, February 18, 2019



To vote in the District of Lillooet election, you must:
  • Be a Canadian Citizen
  • Be 18 years of age or older on General Voting Day
  • Be a resident of the District of Lillooet for at least 30 days before General Voting Day
  • Have been a resident of British Columbia for at least 6 months before General Voting Day
  • Not be disqualified from voting in an election
  • Be a qualified property elector (non-resident property owner)
Corporations, businesses and permanent residents of Canada (landed immigrants) who have not yet become Canadian Citizens are not permitted to vote.



All electors must be registered or register at the time of voting for all elections. You must provide two pieces of valid identification (at least one with a signature) such as: Driver’s Licence, Car Insurance, BC ID Card, Utility Bill, Rent Receipt, Tax Bill, Credit Card, Care Card, Student Card.
Non-Resident property Electors - those who own property in the District but live elsewhere - must provide two pieces of identification (at least on with a signature) to prove identity; as well as proof that they are entitled to register in relation to property, and, if applicable, written consent from the other property owners. A property tax notice or certificate of title are acceptable proof of ownership.
Voting for candidates is done by hand, on specially prepared ballots and manually counted following the close of voting. The paper ballots are retained in the event that a recount is required.